To my Mum on Mother’s Day

My Mum and I
My Mum and I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is Mother’s Day in New Zealand, I think been thinking what have I learned from my mum. Then I realised the list is long, where to start with my journey with my mum. I grew up in Wanganui, a small city on the west coast of the North Island in New Zealand.

Mum showed me how to make a loving meal for a family from very few but fresh ingredients.

Leftovers can and will be reinvented for one evening a week.

Leftover mashed potatoes can go into a homemade sweet bread for a family treat.

How to have a strong work ethic and commitment to my employer.

Homegrown sweet peas are the most feminine flowers ever, that smell amazing! and vary from colour to colour.

How to love and take care my younger brother (who is 6 foot 3 and got given all the height) who was born 7 days before my birthday, 3 years later. As a child I couldn’t figure out how this could be, if I was the oldest. The 3 years later part didn’t enter my mind at all, my mum had to explain this conundrum to me for years.

That life’s surprises can crush you in private but then handle with grace in public.

Mum worked 3 jobs at a time to put food on the table at times, cleaned, cooked, grew vegetables in the garden and flowers, took care of the cats, dog and rabbit. A friend to all mum could and our neighbour’s, a sister, daughter, wife, our driver and the list goes on.

And tried to read the paper for some relaxation time.

Everything I value in life and write about here is really what my mum thought me, to be grateful for what I have, to cherish my friends and family by nourishing them, to say less and listen more. To love and understand other, even when I don’t get it (my brother). Make time for yourself no matter how small the amount of time you have, choose one thing and enjoy very moment you can give to yourself.

Leave a Reply

